World Cup 2022: 16 countries eliminated from tournament


Sixteen countries have been eliminated from the ongoing 2022 FIFA World Cup in Qatar.

They are: Qatar, Canada, Ecuador, Germany, Costa Rica, Belgium, Iran, Wales, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, Denmark, Tunisia, Uruguay, Ghana, Cameroon and Serbia.

Uruguay, Ghana, Cameroon and Serbia were the latest countries sent packing from the 2022 World Cup after their final group matches on Friday.

Uruguay defeated Ghana 2-0 as both teams were eliminated from the tournament after finishing in third and fourth positions behind South Korea and Portugal in Group H.

Cameroon defeated Brazil 1-0, while Switzerland defeated Serbia 3-2 in Group G. Both Brazil and Switzerland are through to the knockout stage after finishing first and second positions in the standings.


Meanwhile, the World Cup round of 16 games will commence on Saturday evening.

The Netherlands will face the USA, while Argentina will tackle Australia.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here