Senate screens Tinubu’s electoral commissioner nominees


Nigeria Senate is currently screening nominees by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to serve as Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs.

The nominees who are ten in number are being screened by the upper legislative Chamber and if confirmed would be deployed to the various States to carry out their primary duties.

Senate Leader, Michael Bamidele Opeyemi after reading the list of nominees, drew the attention of the Chambers to the provision of Section 154 (1) of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 as amended.

Opeyemi said: “Confirmation of the Nomination of the following persons for appointment as Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs. That the Senate do consider the request of Mr. President and Commander-In-Chief of the Armed Forces of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the confirmation of the nomination of the following persons for appointment.”

The nominees undergoing screening who have already made themselves available on Wednesday are:
Mr Etekamba Umoren – Akwa Ibom
Mr Isah Shaka Ehimeakne  – Edo
Barr. Mrs Oluwatoyin Babalola – Ekiti
Mr Abubakar Ahmed Ma’ali –  Gombe
Mr. Shehu Wahab – Kwara
Mr Dr. Bunmi Omoseyindem – Lagos
Mr Aminu Kasimi Idris – Nasarawa
Mohammed Abubakar Sadiq – Niger
Dr. Anugbum Onuoha – Rivers
Mr Abubakar Fawa Dambo – Zamfara


After screening, they are expected to be confirmed by the Committee of the whole.

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here