Senate approves appointment of 7 of Tinubu’s 10 new INEC RECs


The Senate has approved the appointment of seven of the ten nominees of President Tinubu as Resident Electoral Commissioners, RECs, of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC.

The remaining three nominees were not present for screening.

The nominees approved are Mr Etekamba Umoren – Akwaibom; Mr Isha Ehimeakne from Edo; Barr. Oluwatoyin Babalola- Ekiti; Mr Abubakar Ahmed – Gombe; Shehu Wahab – Kwara; Aminu Idris – Nasarawa; Mohammed Abubakar Sadiq – Niger.

Recall that President Tinubu had sent the names of the new RECs for confirmation at the Senate.

The appointment is for a term of five years each, subject to the confirmation of the Nigerian Senate.


The Senate has now confirmed the appointments

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here