Senate confirms Chira Auditor General for Federation


The Senate confirmed President Bola Tinubu’s appointment of Mr. Shaakaa Chira as the Auditor General for the Federation (AuGF).

Chira’s confirmation on Wednesday followed his screening by senators at the Committee of the Whole, chaired by the Senate President, Senator Godswill Akpabio.

Similarly, the Red Chamber also screened and confirmed seven out of 10 presidential nominees as Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs).

Their confirmation was also a result of the consideration of the request of President Tinubu, which was presented on the floor of the upper legislative chamber by the Majority Leader, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele.

Senator Bamidele explained that the confirmation of the nominees was in accordance with the provisions of Section 154(1) of the 1999 Constitution.


Those confirmed are Mr Etekarnba Umoren (Akwa Ibom State), Mr Isah Ehimeakne (Edo State), Mrs Oluwatoyin Babalola (Ekiti State) and Mr Abubakar Ahmed Mai‘aii (Gombe State).

Others include Mr Shehu Wahab (Kwara State), Mr Aminu Kasimi Idris (Nasarawa State) and Mohammed Abubakar Sadiq (Niger State).

In his remarks after the confirmation, the President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, urged the appointees to bring their experience to bear in the discharge of their duties.

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here