Osun commissioners take oath, Adeleke, deputy take charge of ministries


Commissioners cleared by the Osun State House of Assembly on Wednesday took the oath of office as Governor Ademola Adeleke announced that he would take charge of the Ministry of Works.

At the swearing-in ceremony of the new commissioners held at the Osun Government Secretariat, Osogbo, Adeleke also said his deputy, Mr. Kola Adewusi, would be in charge of the Ministry of Sports and Special Needs.

Speaking further at the event attended by the relations, family members, and members of the Peoples Democratic Party across the state, Adeleke demanded cooperation among cabinet members.

Adeleke, who also told the appointees of the high expectations of Osun people from the administration, assured that his team would redouble efforts to deliver on his election promises.


He said, “As we all know, I am a team player. There won’t be any room for solo actors in our cabinet. You must work as a team with a common goal to make a difference in the lives of our people.

“Above all, my leadership is about due process and the rule of law. You must not cut corners. I will not compromise transparency and accountability.

“As you are coming on board, the task before us is enormous. We have a duty to turn our adversity into assets. We must re-engineer our economy, generate wealth, engage our youth, deepen our economic base, embrace the digital economy and implement our climate action agenda.

“We are the innovators to overcome our state’s deficit across sectors. I know you are full of new options for the greater Osun agenda. I believe your heads and hands are full of solutions to the governance problems of our time. Bring them on.”

Others who took oath of office and their portfolios include, Dr Basiru Salam, Ministry of Regional Integration and Special Duties, Mr Morufu Ayanfe; Ministry of Science, Innovation and Communication Technology, Mr Moshood Olagunju; Ministry of Youth Affairs, Mrs Adenike Adeleke, Ministry of Federal Affairs, Mr. Dosu Babatunde, Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs.

Also, Mr Alfred Oyedele took oath as the commissioner in charge of the Ministry of Transport, while Mr Bunmi Jenyo, was assigned Ministry of Commerce and Industry.

Other commissioners and their portfolios are Mr. George Alabi, Ministry of Land and Physical Planning, Mr Sola Ogungbile, Ministry of Finance, Prof. Morufu Adeleke, Ministry of Budget and Economic Planning, Mr. Wole Jimi-Bada, Ministry of Justice, Mr. Dipo Eluwole, Ministry of Education, Mr. Gbola Faseru, Ministry of Agriculture, Mr. Sola Akintola, Ministry of Health, Mr. Mayowa Anjorin, Ministry of Environment and Sanitation, as Mr. Kolapo Alimi was assigned Ministry of Information and Public Enlightenment.

Mr. Aderibigbe Rasheed, Ministry of Home Affairs, Mr. Ayobola Awolowo, Ministry of Women Affairs and Children Welfare, Mr Abiodun Ojo, Ministry of Tourism and Culture, Mr Abdulganiyu Olaoluwa, Ministry of Rural Development and Community Affairs, Mr Sunday Oroniyi, Ministry of Water Resources, Mr Biyi Odunlade, Ministry of Political Affairs and Inter-Governmental Relations, Mr Soji Ajeigbe, Commissioner for Government House Protocol, while Mr Festus Adeyemo would serve as Commissioner for Energy.

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email: info@newspotng.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here