Kaduna: APC’s Abubakar-Albani, Nasir win Basawa, Sabon Gari constituency seats


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday declared Alhaji Jamilu Abubakar-Albani of APC as the winner of the election for the Basawa Constituency seat in the Kaduna State House of Assembly.

Prof. Mohammed Magaji Garba of Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria, the INEC Returning Officer for the election, announced the result in Zaria.

Garba said Abubakar-Albani secured 15, 025 votes to defeat his closest rival, Muazu Danyaro of PDP, who scored 13, 066 votes.

He added that Hassan Ahmed of NNPP scored 2, 336 to come third, while Iliyasu Garba of Labour Party polled 662 votes.

“Jamilu Abubakar-Albani of the APC, having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared winner and returned elected,’’ the returning officer said.


He disclosed that the constituency has 77, 361 registered voters, but only 32, 405 of them accredited themselves for the election, with 31,517 valid votes being recorded and 499 votes rejected.

In a related development, Malam Idris Nasir of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Sabon Gari constituency election in Kaduna State with 25, 088 votes.

Prof. Luscious Bamaiyi of the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria, who was the election’s Returning Officer, announced the result in Zaria on Sunday.

Bamaiyi said Nasir won after defeating Malam Ali-Baba Usman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), his closest contender and the seat’s present occupier, who scored 18, 469 votes.

He added that Lawal Mohammed of NNPP scored 4, 874 votes to emerge third in the election, with Aishatu Yusuf of the Labour Party polling 1, 333 votes.

“Idris Nasir, having satisfied the requirements of law, is hereby declared winner and returned elected,” the returning officer declared.

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email: [email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here