Do World Cup 2022 knockout games go to extra time and penalties? | Football


The knockout stages are underway in Qatar (Picture: Ulrik Pedersen/DeFodi Images via Getty Images)

The World Cup 2022 has entered the knockout stages, which is traditionally where the real action and drama takes place in the tournament.

A total of 16 teams entered the knockout stage and they will be whittled down via the round of 16, quarter-final and semi-final to the remaining two nations, who will compete in the final on December 18.

But what happens if a knockout match in Qatar finishes as a draw?

Find out if games at this year’s World Cup will go to extra time and penalties.

What happens if World Cup knockout games finish in a draw?

If a knockout match at the World Cup ends in a draw after 90 minutes of regulation time, then the game will go to extra time.

Kylian Mbappe playing in the knockout stages of the World Cup 2022

France are defending their crown in Qatar (Picture: Pablo Morano/BSR Agency/Getty Images)

Extra time lasts for 30 minutes, and is played over two halves of 15 minutes.

If the tie is still level after 120 minutes, then a penalty shootout will be required to determine the winner.

The penalties can be taken by any player who finished the match, including the goalkeeper, but they cannot be taken by any of the substitutes.

A coin toss is used before the shootout to determine which team takes the first kick and which end of the stadium the penalties will be undertaken.

The spot kicks are taken in alternating order and the team with the most penalties scored after five each will be the winner.

If the two teams are level after five penalties apiece, then the shootout will go to sudden death.

England will hope to avoid penalties in Qatar (Picture: Julian Finney/Getty Images)

When was the Golden Goal rule abolished?

The Golden Goal rule was simple – the first team to score in extra time won the match.

It was introduced by FIFA in the 1990s and was designed to encourage attacking play in extra time.

However, it had the opposite effect, as teams were desperate not to concede resulting in numerous defensive displays.

FIFA first trialled the rule in youth matches in 1993, before introducing it at the Olympics and the Confederations Cup.

The Golden Goal decided the 1996 European Championships, with Oliver Bierhoff scoring in extra time for Germany against the Czech Republic in the final.

It was first used in a World Cup in 1998, helping hosts France overcome Paraguay in the round of 16.

France would once again be benefactors from the Golden Goal two years later, with David Trezeguet popping up in extra time to win the Euro 2020 final against Italy.

FIFA implemented the Silver Goal for Euro 2004, with the team winning at half time of extra time declared the winner.

The rule was completely scrapped following the tournament, with normal extra time and penalties used ever since.

MORE : Who could England play in World Cup knockout rounds? Dates and times

MORE : World Cup 2022 Golden Boot: Top scorers in Qatar

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below

Metro Pickem

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here