Bauchi Speaker, Abubakar Sulaiman reelected


The Speaker, Bauchi State House of Assembly, Right Honourable Abubakar Y Suleiman, was on Sunday declared the winner of the state assembly election for Ningi Central State Constituency held on Saturday.

The Speaker, who was declared elected in Ningi by the Returning Officer for the state constituency, Professor Shuaibu Muhammad of the PDP, scored a total of 16,866 votes as against the 15,065 votes polled by All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Hon Khalid Abdulmalik Ningi and Hon Danlami Garba Bara’u of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) who got 4,886 votes in the election.

While reacting to his declaration as the winner of the election, Suleiman, who contested on the platform of the ruling People’s Democratic Party (PDP) in the state, expressed appreciation to Allah for his victory and those of other PDP candidates across the state. He also appreciated his constituents for reelecting him.

The speaker, who is the current Chairman of the Conference of Speakers of State Legislatures of Nigeria, was first elected as a member of the Bauchi State House of Assembly in 2019 under the APC, he defected to the PDP in 2022 due to what he termed the outstanding performance of the state governor, Senator Bala Absulkadir Mohammed.


Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email: [email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here