Abia sets retirement deadline for public servants


As a part of the continuing reforms in the country, the Abia State Government has decided to reinstate a policy that will revitalise the public service, and restore the morale of officers in the state.

Accordingly, the state government has approved that Permanent Secretaries and Heads of non-ministerial Departments shall hold office for a term of four years, renewable for another term of four years, “subject to satisfactory performance, and no more. Directors shall compulsorily retire upon serving eight years on the post”.

In a circular with reference number HS/S.0001/SUB.1/123, dated, 19th September 2023 and signed by the state’s Head of Service, Lady Joy I. Maduka, the state government urged those affected to prepare for their retirement by 1st January, 2024.

“This approval is without prejudice to Rule 02809 of the Abia State Public Service Rules which prescribed sixty (60) years of age and/or thirty-five (35) of pensionable service whichever is earlier for mandatory retirement.


“Consequently, all Permanent Secretaries, Head of Non-ministerial Departments and Directors who have spent eight (8) years or more on the job by 1st January, 2024, are hereby notified to commence their retirement activities. This is to obviate any form of delay in receiving their retirement benefits.

“It is to be emphasised that the onus is on the Permanent Secretaries, Head of Non-ministerial Departments and Directors affected to give the prescribed three (3) months’ notice before the effective date of retirement”, she said.

The circular, the HOS said, “takes immediate effect and supersedes other previous circulars on the matter”.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here