Abia Assembly elections: LP sweeps Umuahia Central, Umuahia East, Aba North


The Labour Party in Abia State has been declared winners of the concluded House of Assembly elections held in Umuahia Central, Umuahia East, Umuahia South and Aba North state constituencies on Saturday, 18th March, 2023, conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC in all electoral wards of the 17 local government areas in the state.

Newspot is monitoring results at the INEC collation centre situated in Umuahia, the Abia State capital.

In Umuahia North, the candidate of the Labour Party, Mr Iheoma Smart, lost to the candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

The Labour Party candidate for Umuahia Central seat, Barrister Chinasa Anthony-Abiola, polled a total of 11, 222 votes to defeat Pastor Ugochukwu Uchegbu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 2, 656 votes, while Kenneth Maduakolam Adighibe of the All Progressives Congress (APC), polled 1, 543 votes.

According to the returning officer, Engr. Chiadine Tochukwu: “Anthony Chinasa of the Labour Party(LP) having satisfied the requirements of the law is hereby declared winner of the Umuahia Central state constituency seat election.”


Also declared winner was the LP candidate for Umuahia East constituency seat, Hon Austin Okezie Meregini who scored 7,189 votes to beat Innocent Chimezie Nwachukwu of Young Progressives Party(YPP) who polled 3,679 votes, Kelechi Nwakodo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 2,319 votes.

Others include Okezie Obasi of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) who scored 916 votes, and Barrister Ugochukwu Ndubuka of the All Progressives Congress(APC) who scored 860 votes.

Similarly, Labour Party candidate for Aba North state constituency seat, Mr Nwagwu Destiny Akaraka, defeated Aaron Uzodike Emmanuel of the Peoples Democratic Party, Atata Charles Chukwudegwu of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), and Joy Onyeso of the All Progressives Congress(APC) with 13, 759 votes.

Meanwhile, the All Progressives Congress candidate for Umuahia North state constituency seat, Mr Akaliro Anderson has been announced the winner of the election in the area.

He scored a total number of 3, 079 votes to defeat Ugochukwu Ezeocha Kenneth of the PDP who polled 2,258, while Asiegbu Nnaji Obed of the YPP scored 2064 votes and Ikpo Ugochukwu of the APGA polled 566 votes.

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email: info@newspotng.com

--Recommended Articles--


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here