2023: Why we decamp to APC – Zamfara NNPP defectors


Former members of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) in Zamfara State who defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) claimed they realised the NNPP cannot win any political election in the state.

The defectors, led by the former NNPP Organising Secretary in the state, Hon. Babangida Haruna Damba had stormed the Zamfara State Government House to express their support for the ruling APC.

Newspot gathered that out of the 14 local governments in the state, chairmen of 10 local governments were among those who decamped to APC.

Declaring their decampment, Damba said they had already collapsed the NNPP structures with most of the party’s exco members following them.

According to him, the decision to collapse the NNPP structures and join Governor Matawalle and APC was because the NNPP lacks internal democracy.


He maintained that there are strong indications that the party will lose all contestable positions at the state and national levels in the 2023 general elections.

Damba further explained that the NNPP presidential candidate is only in the race as a spoiler who is ready to bury the party at the end of the elections.

While welcoming the defectors, Governor Matawalle expressed happiness and commended them on their wise decision to join the APC, assuring them of treatment and opportunities in the party. He also urged them to continue to be law-abiding as well as convince more people to join the winning party.

The state executives of the NNPP who decamped to APC include the State Chairman, Alhaji Sani DD Anka, Organising Secretary, Hon. Babangida Haruna Damba, Treasurer, Alhaji Hamza Yahaya and Ibrahim Muhammad who was in charge of welfare.

Others include Women Leader, Hajiya Zuwaira Muhammad, Assistant Organising Secretary, Nura Garba, Assistant Publicity Secretary, Anas Dalibi, Deputy Women leader, Jamila Adamu Bakura, State Zonal Vice-Chairman, Bashir Dokau, State Ex-Officio 1, Alhaji Abubakar Madina and Leader of Person with Disability, Ibrahim Hayatu.

The local government chairmen that joined APC from NNPP include, Jamilu Musa Barade (Anka), Tajjuddeen Lauwali (Bukkuyum), Ibrahim Abubakar (Bakura), Yahuza Usman (Maradun), Salisu Muhammad (Gusau), Bello Abubakar (Kaura Namoda), Hon. Abdullahi Shehu (Shinkafi), Ibrahim Dangaladima (Maru), Basiru Lawal (Bungudu) and Salihu Ibrahim Dauran (Zurmi).

Others are 14 local government women leaders and the party’s state assembly candidate from Zurmi, Hon. Kabiru Muhammad Zurmi.

2023: Why we decamp to APC – Zamfara NNPP defectors

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email: info@newspotng.com


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here