When is the next Commonwealth Games and where will it take place?


England is not only hosting the 2022 Games – but soaring to the top of the medal table (Picture: Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

It’s been a very exciting few weeks in the West Midlands, as Birmingham hosts the 2022 Commonwealth Games.

The Commonwealth, a political association with 54 member states, is celebrated by a number of teams competing in a variety of athletics and sports, much like the Olympics.

England, at the time of writing, was second on the 2022 medal table, just being pipped to the post by Australia.

While the gold medals are for keeps, sadly the Games aren’t held here all the time. The next games will be hosted elsewhere in the Commonwealth, and will happen on a fixed time frame.

So, when are the next Commonwealth Games? And where are we off to next?

Let’s find out.

When is the next Commonwealth Games?

Birmingham Library countdown clock to the 2022 Commonwealth Games

Birmingham counted down the days until it hosted the games – but when are they next? (Picture: Miles Willis/Getty Images for Birmingham 2022)

The next Commonwealth Game will take place in March 2026.

Currently, the exact dates pencilled in are Tuesday, March 17 to Sunday, March 29 2026.

The Games happen every four years, and competition takes place over 12 days, as is the case for Birmingham 2022, which lasted from Thursday, July 28 to Monday, August 8.

Where will the next Commonwealth Games take place?

The 2026 Commonwealth Games will be hosted in the state of Victoria in Australia.

Victoria will be putting on the various sporting competitions in four regions: Ballarat, Bendigo, Geelong and Gippsland – with Melbourne, the state capital, also involved.

Melbourne skyline at dusk

Melbourne is the capital of Victoria – but the entire state will host the Games (Picture: Getty)
Melbourne Cricket Ground will put on the opening ceremony for Victoria 2026 (Picture: Getty)

It’s already been announced that Melbourne Cricket Ground will be the opening ceremony venue.

We don’t know about host cities/countries beyond 2026 just yet, but Australia’s Gold Coast did host in 2018.

Before that, the 2014 Commonwealth Games were held in Glasgow, Scotland.

Previous hosts include Melbourne (2006), Manchester, England (2002), Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia (1998), Victoria, Canada (1994) and Auckland, New Zealand (1990).

Jamaica has not hosted since 1966, while Wales last put on the Games in 1958 in Cardiff.

When do the Commonwealth Games end and how to watch the closing ceremony?

MORE : England disqualified and stripped of Commonwealth Games gold medal in dramatic relay

MORE : Australia’s cricket team slammed for winning Commonwealth Games gold medal with player who had Covid

Follow Metro across our social channels, on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Share your views in the comments below

General Sport

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068606071 Email: info@newspotng.com

--Recommended Articles--