Ondo election: PDP appeal panel clears Erewa

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Appeal Panel for Ondo State poll has cleared Prince Godday Erewa to contest for the governorship ticket.

The party had fixed July 22 for its primary election.

On Monday, the PDP panel sat at the national secretariat in Abuja.

It is chaired by Gyang Istifanus Dung, with Uzoma Abonta as secretary.


Members are Dayo Ogungbenro, Austine Umahi, Dan Orbih, G. T. Kataps, Theophilus Daka Shan, Ibrahim Kazaure, Kola Balogun, Bolanle Ogundiran, Rimafe Swawulu, Hajiya Hassana Diko, and Christine Akpan.

In his remarks, Erewa thanked panel for treating his petition with fairness.

He noted that they “exhibited a high level of sincerity by allowing justice to prevail.”

The aspirant promised to “drive the desired change by creating new opportunities and platforms that would galvanize the state and place it on a steady path to sustainable socio-economic development.”

The screening committee chaired by former House of Representatives Speaker, Yakubu, had disqualified two of the nine aspirants.

With Erewa’s clearance, the PDP now has eight aspirants jostling to become the flagbearer.

Share your story or advertise with us: Whatsapp: +2347068686071, +2348053062268, Email: [email protected]